Land rights activist is NT’s Aust of Year


Samuel Bush-Blanasi, chairman of the Northern Land Council, and three others were celebrated at the Darwin Convention Center on Monday night.

The four NT recipients will join those from other states and territories for the national awards to be announced on 25 January 2023.

The 60-year-old has worked for decades locally and nationally to empower Indigenous Australians.

As chair and deputy chair of the Northern Land Council, he has been instrumental in securing sea country rights in Arnhem Land for traditional owners and the incorporation in 2022 of the Aboriginal Sea Company (ASC).

The ASC is the first of its kind and will enable traditional owners to oversee commercial fishing, aquaculture and other fishing-related activities along the Arnhem Land coastline.

It will provide employment and enable Aboriginal people to manage profitable and sustainable fisheries.

Samuel has also supported native title claims, recently overseeing the historic reversion of the remaining half of Kakadu National Park to 14 groups of clan properties.

Nationally, he has pushed for reform of the Australian Constitution, joining forces with Indigenous leaders to host dialogue and develop the historic Uluru Declaration from the Heart.

Suicide prevention campaigner Bernard Tipiloura is the 2023 NT Australian of the Year.

The 2023 NT New Australian is First Nations community leader Jahdai Vigona.

Social worker and founder of mental health charity Two Two One, Sacha King, is the 2023 NT Local Hero.

National Australia Day Council CEO Karlie Brand congratulated the award recipients from the Northern Territory.

“The NT awardees are extraordinary individuals committed to creating better futures – for their country, for their community and for their people,” Ms Brand said.

“We look forward to welcoming them to Canberra for the national Australian of the Year Awards to be announced on 25 January 2023.”


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *